About Me: Student Blogging Challenges

This is a short story about me and my participation in the Edublogs Student Blogging Challenge #16stubc.  Students and classes from all over the world participate in a series of activities to help build their confidence in blogging.

The first challenge is to introduce yourself.  I’ll start by telling you my name – it’s Dinah. I found out about this excellent opportunity a few years ago and was fortunate to be selected as a mentor. It’s given me a chance to learn about blogging and to help others in the process.

One of the first challenges was for students to introduce themselves. There are so many ways and it’s difficult to choose just one.  I kept coming back to the A-Z activity after reading several posts by students.

Here is a list of hobbies I enjoy:

  • making different types of arts and craft projects.
  • collecting Buckeyes. (Did you know that holding a “buckeye nut” in your pocket is considered good luck?)
  • camping outdoors.
  • writing letters to pen pals.
  • quick walks or running. Not a fan but I do it for my daughter.

My main job is to work with teacher education students.  They know that I love all sorts of technologyand I enjoy finding unique ways to make their visions become realities through the use of web-based tools.

X is a tricky letter.  Can’t find a word that fits my story so I’ll just move on.  If you think of something please leave me a comment!  Thanks Chad!  He suggested that I might be xenodochial.

Finally, at the end of a long day I find that it is important to find ways to relax.  I’ve tried lots of things like Yoga, but I prefer to Zentangle.  It’s a mix of art and meditation.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my story.  Now to visit other blogs and see what the students have created!

13 thoughts on “About Me: Student Blogging Challenges

  1. Dinah,
    Thank you so much for continuing to be a fantastic example of a mentor. Are you finding that your students are leaving comments back to you or are your comments not being moderated?

  2. Greetings.
    Back at the end of March I went through each blog. Most hadn’t developed an All About Me page or contributed to the challenge. I’m going back through again and will let you know.
    If you have others that need a mentor and are completing the projects I can contribute to them.
    Thanks
    Dinah

  3. This is a great way to introduce yourself to the student bloggers. You’ve gotten me to thinking about doing something like this for the students that I’m mentoring this year. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Hi Dinah,

    I’m hmschad. I loved reading your about me page! I have an idea for ‘X’ how about Xenodochial meaning very nice, especially to strangers.
    Cheers,
    chad

  5. Thanks for the comment on my blog about the student blogging challenge! I hope you enjoy the challenge as well! It’s really cool that you love technology. I also love camping outdoors!
    Thanks again for the comment!
    Alexya Online

  6. Hi Dinah,
    It’s Alexya Online.Thanks for the comment on my blog about the student blogging challenge! I hope you enjoy the challenge as well! It’s really cool that you love technology. I also love camping outdoors!
    Thanks again for the comment!
    Alexya Online

  7. I really like your background. Awesome. And I love how you explained about you and your life on edu blogs.

  8. Hello and thank you. The background reminds me of my teaching days when we used chalkboards. Do you have those kind of boards in your classroom?
    Ah, the good old days!
    Thanks.
    Dinah

  9. When I see this “about me” page, the words that spring to mind are aesthetic and creative. This inspired me to spruce up my blog.
    I have never heard of Zentangle before, but I definitely need to try it.
    Thanks, Ally
    http://www.blog44.ca/allyt/

  10. Hello Ally,
    Thanks. I’m glad you like my blog design. While I love technology, there is something nostalgic about the old chalkboards. I remember using them in school when I was a child.
    I learned about Zentangle a few years ago. It is a meditative art form. Some folks can create intricate designs that are amazing! One of my favorite pieces of art was a woven wooden fish that had different tangles on each of the pieces.
    Thanks for commenting!
    Dinah

  11. Hello Dinah! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I hope we can talk again soon!

    Hope you join the Blogging challenge next year,
    Asha
    💁💁👍

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *