Visiting blogs and sharing favorite foods stories

In weeks 5 and 6 of the #stubc15, the challenges are to visit other blogs and discuss favorite foods.  I’ve always found that food and conversation go well together.  This should be fun.

As the Christmas holiday gets closer I’m reminded of my favorite food made by my Grandmother who emigrated from Czechoslovakia.  The family loved her Walnut Roll Bread.  Well, that’s what we called them.  Later I found out that the official name for them was Orechovnik.

Nutroll

Zidel333 [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

It seems that different cultures have similar walnut roll recipes.  In some regions its called Potica, Povitica, Bejgli or Kolache,.  Sometimes the filling is different.  Sometimes the shape is different.  Sometimes the rolls are glazed.

In my grandmother’s version the log-shaped walnut rolls were not glazed.

So, I’m curious.  Have you ever eaten a Walnut Roll?  If so, can you tell me about it?  I’m using VoiceThread to share thoughts on this holiday recipe.

And now I’m off to visit different blogs to see what other great foods people are writing about.

If you’d like to leave a comment click on the bottom of the picture to select your choice.  You’ll need to have a VoiceThread account.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *